?

Log in

I wrote this for a Creative Writing class, due the day after I found out about his passing:


Just thought I'd share.  :)
 
 
Current Mood: contentcontent
Current Music: Pale Yellow - The Ditty Bops
 
 
12 April 2007 @ 03:14 am
RIP
 
 
09 July 2006 @ 03:54 pm
Hello. I know I'm new and all, but in the rules (I'm pretty sure), it doesn't deny us promoting rights.

Literati Lovers Book Club: For those who love books and reading. We love to watch Gilmore Girls and the Rory Gilmore/Jess Mariano pair, but you don't have to be a fan to join. If you love books, movies, or music, join in!

http://community.livejournal.com/lit_book_lovers

Breakfast Club: The movie from 1985, The Breakfast Club, join if you're a fan!

http://community.livejournal.com/breakfastclub_

Ron and Hermione: True Love Hidden The community for fans of Harry Potter's Ron Weasley and Hermione Granger pairing. Join!

http://community.livejournal.com/hp_ron_hermione

I'm sure you'll find something.
 
 
07 July 2006 @ 07:21 pm
Icon  
What book is he reading here!?



GILMORE GIRLS FANS: This is Jess Mariano reading Slaughter-House Five. Feel free to use. Credit if you take.
 
 
Current Mood: accomplishedaccomplished
Current Music: "i say a little prayer" by diana king
 
 
06 July 2006 @ 03:24 pm
Hello! I'm new, and just started reading Kurt Vonnegut. My first is Slaughter-House Five, which is totally cliqued, but I do love it so far.

Is Timequake any good? I checked it out from the library before I bought Slaughter-House Five, and it's due in a week. Should I start reading it?
 
 
Current Mood: hyperhyper
Current Music: "blind" by lifehouse
 
 
 
04 July 2006 @ 05:09 pm
What follows verbatim is an e-mail posted to craigslist's "writing gigs" subscription list back on 5 June 2006. Written in response to several writers who had objected to the number of solicitations for writers to write for free (receiving, instead of payment, the glow that comes from having your work published or produced by organizations that advertise via craigslist), it sadly demonstrates how writers in particular, and artists as a whole, are perceived by many of the individuals who employ us.

I am getting a bit fed up with all these belly-aching writers. Of course writing is not profitable! It's an art! Can you imagine if all the painters and collage-makers complained as much as you do about not being rich? ...Listen "writers": you do it cause you love it. If you are looking to pay your rent then be a plumber. None of your favorite writers made a living doing what the world remembers them for, instead they were doctors (chekhov), or postal workers (bukowski), or installing air conditioners (vonnegut) ...writers who complain about not getting paid enough are like firemen who don't feel like people refer to them enough as heroes-- which is to say they are doing it for the wrong reasons. just because you write does not entitle you to literary attention-- it doesn't mean you are talented. i'm beginning to think it doesn't even mean you like writing.

so please, paying gigs and non-paying gigs-- keep 'em coming-- but can we try to keep the self-righteous whining to a minimum??


So the toils of plumbing, doctoring, postal work, and installing air conditioners are worthy of payment -- but not writing? And note how diabolically it's suggested that if you expect to be paid for your artwork, you're "doing it for the wrong reasons." Unfortunate, however, are the examples cited, as Chekhov, Bukowski, and Vonnegut all went on to enjoy lucrative writing careers.

They didn't achieve that status by accepting the wrongheaded notion that they should write for free.
 
 
Current Location: Brooklyn, New York
Current Mood: lazylazy
Current Music: Twilight Zone
 
 
06 May 2006 @ 08:38 pm
Hey everyone! I just joined this community. I LOVE Kurt Vonnegut!
I just read his latest book, A Man Without a Country, and it was great. You should check it out.
I don't really have anything else to say right now. But yeah, I love him.
 
 
05 April 2006 @ 09:44 pm
Nice community you've got here. I just posted a review of Leonard Cohen's The Future, where I invoke the memory of Slaughterhouse Five, over at my blog Mere Words. Your comments are welcome. Enjoy.
 
 
03 March 2006 @ 05:41 pm
http://www.thelantern.com/media/paper333/news/2006/03/02/Arts/Vonnegut.a.Man.Without.A.Country-1650945.shtml?norewrite&sourcedomain=www.thelantern.com

I, personally, was unable to attend the OSU thing, but here's an article on it. I am quite disappointed, but there was no way I could get in. The line was over a block long.

Edit!

So I was watching Jeapordy and the question was about Upton Sinclair's The Jungle. It was something like, "Which 1906 novel..." and it mentioned a slaughter house. 2 of the 3 contestants said Slaughter House Five.

This amused me... because Vonnegut totally isn't over 100 years old and SL5 is about WWII. Yeah... just thought I'd share...
 
 
Current Mood: satisfiedmeh, alright
Current Music: Dirty Old Town - The Pogues
 
 
27 February 2006 @ 05:13 pm
I'm relatively new and I just thought I'd mention this in case anyone here is an OSU student.

Kurt Vonnegut will be having an "intimte chat" with OSU students on Wednesday, March 1st at 7:00 PM in the Ohio Union Ballrooms.

Unfortunately, this does not include me as I am only a sophomore in high school... but if I search around, I might be able to find someone who would be willing to bring me as their "non-student" guest.

A Little About Me: I started reading Vonnegut in eighth grade with Slaughter-House Five and was swept off my feet. I encouraged my ninth grade English teacher to start re-reading the books and, though, I'm not in his class this year, he periodically takes me out of my new English class to have a discussion. I used to lend my books out to my friends, but I don't think they care as much as they used to.

Anyway... yeah... I think I've only got four more left to read.
 
 
Current Mood: amusedamused
Current Music: My Way - Frank Sinatra